Writing Competitions

Writing Competitions


Imagnary House is a boutique publishing house for children’s books and young adult literature in Cape Town, South Africa.
Imagnary House is focused on building a larger market for African children’s authors and illustrators by both igniting the local readership and engaging with international readers, rights’ and literary agents.

Imagnary House is opening their submissions, and are looking to build up their publication list for the next 2 years. What are they looking for? They love stories that are fun and imaginative, but also address current societal issues for children. They want simple stories that mean something and can feed positively into our children’s futures. However, they don’t like didactic or educational texts, and lean towards manuscripts that are diverse and
can travel across different cultures and countries. Imagnary House will consider submissions in the following genres:
• Children’s long form fiction (think Roald Dahl and CS Lewis narratives)
• Young-adult science-fiction, fantasy, or alternative-reality novels
• Comic books and graphic novels
Writers and illustrators can submit their work on Imagnary House’s submissions page.


The Science Fiction and Fantasy Club [South Africa] is running its annual short story competition.

It must be in English, and be Science Fiction or Fantasy.

Word length 2000 to 8000.

Closing date is 30th September 2017 (don’t leave it too late).

Prizes are R2 000, R1 000, and R500.

For more details contact the organizer Gavin Kreuiter on 084-830-0608, or check their website, WWW.SFSA.org.za, and look under Nova.

Happy writing!


Enter the 2017 Sir Peter Ustinov Television Script writing Award

Deadline: 1 July 2017
Prize: $2,500, a trip to New York City, and an invitation to the International Emmy® Awards Gala in November

Created in 1989, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation has its own Constitution, Officers and independent Board of Trustees. Each year, The Foundation administers the Sir Peter Ustinov Television Scriptwriting Award. The competition is designed to motivate non-American novice writers under the age of 30, and offer them the recognition and encouragement that might lead to a successful career in television script writing. Entrants are asked to create a completed half-hour to one-hour English-language television drama script. Entry guidelines: International Emmy Awards

Short. Sharp. Stories.

The “Short Sharp Stories Award” for South African short-story fiction is made each year by the National Arts Festival. An anthology of selected stories is published annually and the theme set for writers differs from year to year. The winning stories, selected from the stories to be published, by a panel of independent judges, are announced at an annual launch event at the National Arts Festival in Grahamstown. It is the aim of this award to encourage, support, and showcase established and emerging South African writing talent. The Award is curated by Joanne Hichens.

2017 Theme

Rules & How To Enter


Sasol New Signatures

Call for entries!

Discovering and promoting South Africa’s artistic talent is at the very heart of Sasol New Signatures Art Competition. Being the longest running competition of its kind in South Africa, Sasol New Signatures has played a pivotal role over the years in unearthing local artists and promoting them to the art-loving public. This year’s competition intends to remain true to this legacy by looking for those hidden artists that want to break into the mainstream.

Do you have what it takes to be discovered and become the next Sasol New Signatures winner? Enter now.

How to enter

  1. Download the editable entry form
  2. Complete your details, print and sign the entry form
  3. Submit your entry form, supporting documentation, and artwork/s, at our dedicated collection points

More information, terms and conditions are included in the entry form.

Share Button